I started submitting my writing a couple weeks ago. I’ve been talking about it for years, reading articles about publishing for months, and finally stated paying attention to the newsletters to which I’d subscribed so long ago. The stress of work must have flipped a switch. 

Twice a day, that was the rule. I submit something from my portfolio for publication twice a day. And I’ve done well with that. Poetry or flash fiction, two submits a day. The Navarre Cycle has been my go-to for poetry, but I’ve sent in the Old Cowtown pair and one other. I’ve sent in a couple stories, even had Ogre Next Door accepted (March, 2018, in formercactus). I’ve even kept my submission tracker updated. But tonight, I broke my rule. 

Tonight, I submitted three. 

3 thoughts on “I broke my rule

    1. Largely based on the type of publication and what they’re looking for. The Navarre Cycle is a good “catch-all” packet for general poetry submissions. I wrote it while spending a week on a beach, so it’s lot of imagery and interesting scenes, as well as some weird meditations that come from sitting on a beach, staring at the ocean.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment